Disability(ies) - Staff Monitoring Report 2023/24

Disability(ies) 2023/24

Proportion % by Disability(ies) Disclosure in 2023/24

Pie chart showing the proportion of colleagues who have disclosed a disability, have not disclosed a disability, or whose disability status is unknown. Details in the data table available after this graphic.
Proportion by Disability(ies) Disclosure (as at 31st July 2024)
Disability declaration%
Yes8.8%
No87.2%
Unknown4.0%

Most colleagues have indicated that they do not have a disability.

Scope: All Staff (please see inclusion/exclusion table) 

Snapshot date: 31st July 2024 (Academic Year 2023/24)

Population and Disclosure Rate over 5 years 

Bar chart showing the proportion of staff disclosing a disability across five academic years. Details in the data table available after this graphic.
Proportion of staff disclosing Disability(ies) over 5 years
Year% Staff disclosing disability
2019/207.7%
2020/217.4%
2021/227.9%
2022/238.6%
2023/248.8%

Disability disclosure increased overall during the five years period.

Line chart showing the disability disclosure rate across five years. Details in the data table available after this graphic.

Disclosure Rate: Proportion of staff disclosing “Yes” or “No” to Disability(ies) Question
Year% Disclosure rate
2019/2099.0%
2020/2199.6%
2021/2297.4%
2022/2397.8%
2023/2496.0%

Disclosure rates remained consistently high throughout the period.

Snapshot date(s): 2019/20 to 2023/24 as at 31st July of each year.

Scope: All Staff – Academic Staff (Central, Regional, Research and ALs) and Professional and Support Staff – data does not include OU subsidiaries (OUSA, OUW, Mulberry Bear) or agency/temp workers.

Disability(ies) by Employee Group 

Two pie charts comparing disability disclosure status for Academic Staff and Professional and Support Staff. Details in the data table available after this graphic.
Disability(ies) by Employee Group 
Disability(ies)Academic StaffProfessional and Support Staff
Yes9.2%8.4%
No84.3%90.9%
Unknown6.5%0.7%

Both employee groups are predominantly made up of staff who have not disclosed a disability.

Snapshot date(s): 2023/24 (as at 31st July 2024) 

Scope: All Staff – Academic Staff (Central, Regional, Research and ALs) and Professional and Support Staff – data does not include OU subsidiaries (OUSA, OUW, Mulberry Bear) or agency/temp workers.

Back to top

Disability(ies) by Employee Subgroup 

Horizontal bar chart showing the proportion of staff disclosing a disability across different employee subgroups. Details in the data table available after this graphic.
Proportion of staff disclosing Disability(ies) by employee subgroup
Employee Subgroup% staff with disability(ies)
Regional Academic Staff 10.4%
Associate Lecturer9.7%
Support Staff9.0%
Research Staff 8.0%
Academic Related Staff7.9%
Central Academic Staff6.5%

Disability disclosure varies across employee subgroups, with Regional Academic Staff and Associate Lecturers showing higher levels of disclosure.

Snapshot date(s): 2023/24 (as at 31st July 2024)

Scope: All Staff – Academic Staff (Central, Regional, Research and ALs) and Professional and Support Staff – data does not include OU subsidiaries (OUSA, OUW, Mulberry Bear) or agency/temp workers.

Representation at senior level (Equality KPI targets)

There are more colleagues disclosing Disability(ies) in professor bands (5.7%) compared to SS grades (2.9%). Over recent years there had been an increase in representation towards the target. However, due to a decrease in the numbers of staff disclosing Disability(ies) in both senior academic and professional services roles in 2023/24, the overall proportion has decreased to 4.4%.

Bar chart showing the proportion of people at senior level who disclosed a disability across five academic years, alongside a target for the most recent year. Details in the data table available after this graphic.
Proportion (%) of people disclosing Disability(ies) at senior level across 5 years
Year% Disclosure rate
2019/203.2% (n=7)
2020/213.5% (n=9)
2021/224.9% (n=14)
2022/235.8% (n=18)
2023/244.4% (n=13)

Disability disclosure at senior level increased over the first four years shown but decreased in the most recent year, remaining below the target of 7.2%.

Bar chart comparing the representation of staff disclosing a disability at senior level across two grade groups in 2023/24. Details in the data table available after this graphic.
Representation of staff disclosing Disability(ies) at senior level by grade group – 2023/24
Grades% Disclosure rate
PB1-PB35.7% (n=9)
SS0-SS52.9% (n=4)

Disability disclosure at senior level is higher in the PB1-PB3 grade group than in the SS0-SS5 grade group.

Snapshot date(s): 2019/20 to 2023/24 as at 31st July of each year (above chart) | Below chart shows the current year 2023/24 (as at 31st July 2024) 

Scope: Staff with ‘SS’ (Senior Staff) grades or ‘PB’ (Professor) grades

Recruitment

In 2023/24, the proportion of applicants disclosing Disability(ies) was 7.3%, the same as the previous year. The proportion of candidates disclosing Disability(ies) increased at the shortlisting stage to 9.2%. However, fewer candidates disclosing Disability(ies) were successful after interview, making up 3.8% of new appointments, down 1.5 percentage points on the previous year. 

The unknown / no data group represents a larger proportion of applicants in 2023/24. There is more information in the note about 2023/24 recruitment data.

Proportion by Disability(ies) Disclosure (as at 31st July 2024) Disability(ies)

Disability representation at recruitment
Disability(ies)Number of Applicants% of ApplicantsNumber of Shortlisted Applicants% of Shortlisted ApplicantsNumber of Appointed Candidates% of Appointed CandidatesProportion (%) of applicants shortlistedProportion (%) of shortlisted candidates interviewedProportion (%) appointed after interview
Yes8937.3%2279.2%303.8%25.4%78.4%16.9%
No9,49277.2%1,67067.7%36946.4%17.6%76.8%28.8%
Prefer not to say4143.4%833.4%202.5%20.0%75.9%31.7%
No data1,50412.2%48619.7%37747.4%32.3%95.3%81.4%
Grand Total12,303100.0%2,466100.0%796100.0%20.0%80.5%40.1%

Reporting period : 1st August 2023 to 31st July 2024 

Scope: All Staff – Academic Staff (Central, Regional, Research and ALs) and Professional and Support Staff – data does not include OU subsidiaries (OUSA, OUW, Mulberry Bear) or agency/temp workers

Back to top